Skip to main content

Welcome Guide

Guide to GSM Library

Welcome to GSM Library Services

The library team offer a number of services for students and staff. Our collections of print and online resources help support the teaching and research activities of the institution. 

Our printed collections consist of around 25,000 books with over 1,200 ebooks and with access to our Discovery search we have access to 1000s of journal titles and databases.

Click below for a printable PDF version 


Opening Hours

Greenwich Library
Monday – Friday:
Greenwich Library is open on selected weekends. Please ask at the desk or check on Library opening hours page

Greenford Library
Monday – Friday: 

Please note that Library opening hours may vary during the vacation and seasonal and bank holidays, please visit our Library opening hours page for up-to-date information.


Our Resources (and how to access them) 

Books
We have over 25,000 books in our collection. Our books are arranged on the shelves according to subjects. Each book is labelled with its subject classmark and is filed on the shelves in this order.
The easiest way to locate a book is via our online catalogue

eBooks
eBooks can be found via the online catalogue and accessed via DawsonEra or our Discovery search (using your GSM Athens account). Our eBooks can be accessed 24/7 and either viewed online or downloaded and “borrowed” for offline reading for 24 hours.


Journals
Journals are arranged on the shelves alphabetically by title. In addition, many journals are available electronically. You can access these through Discovery - found via the ‘Library’ tab on GSM Learn.

Databases 
GSM subscribes to a number of powerful online databases containing an extensive range of eBooks, full text journal articles and other subject-related information (see overleaf for more information). These can
be accessed using your GSM Athens username and password.


Study spaces

Space is available for both group and individual study. Quiet and Group study areas are for collaborative working where discussion about your work can take place. We encourage all students to be aware of those working around them and keep conversations to a considerate level. Silent study areas are for individual work only and conversations should not be held in these areas. We have an iHub where you can book in advance your study space. 


Printing, copying and scanning

Printing and copying facilities are available in the Library.
Printing is charged at 5p per page for A4 black & white. Colour printing and A3 printing are also available. 
Your account is tied to your Student ID card and will be credited with £10 at the start of your studies. Additional credit can be loaded onto your card from the cash loader. At Greenford this is located on the ground floor adjacent to the lifts; at Greenwich it is in the main corridor on the 2nd floor next to the stairs. Visit our libguide on Printing, Scanning and copyright for more information. 


Computing facilities

PCs are available in the Quiet and Silent Study areas of the Library. Express PC terminals are available in the Library for short tasks such as checking email or printing.

Your GSM PC Login Account
Your PC Login account provides access to on-campus student PCs, including internet access and personal network file space (U: drive). You can also access desktop applications such as Microsoft Office and specialist applications such as SPSS.
Saving work: The U: drive is your personal file space which is backed up by GSM. Do not save work anywhere else as it will automatically be deleted. 
Logging off: Click on “Log off” in the Start Menu in order to end your session. You must do this to ensure that your work is secure and no one else can use your account.

Wifi
Wireless internet access is available throughout each campus and the library offers study spaces equipped with power points for use of laptops and other mobile devices. Please note that the wifi is available for use by current GSM students and staff only.


Back to top of page