Skip to main content

Copyright Guidance for Students

Copyright law limits the amount you can copy from library books, magazines and journals.  It can also prevent you from re-using some pictures, music and video unless you obtain permission from the owner or creator of the work. GSM has made arrangements for you to be able to copy from most books and journals that you will find in the library through our licence from the Copyright Licensing Agency. 

 

What you can copy from library books and journals

GSM London has a licence from the Copyright Licensing Agency which means that you can photocopy the amounts below from most printed books and academic journals in the library. To double-check whether a publication is covered by the CLA licence please ask library staff or use the CLA's permission checker which can be seen here: https://www.cla.co.uk/check-permissions-start 

You can copy:

  • Up to 10% or one chapter of a book
  • Up to 10% or one article from a single issue of a journal or magazine
  • Up to 10% or one case  from a printed law report 

 

 

Scanning

The licence does NOT allow students to scan printed books or journals to save as a file or to send by email. You can save articles from online library journals for your personal use. You can also download chapters from library Ebooks. See more under the "Library Online Resources" tab of this guide.

 

This guides provides simple guidelines to assist students to ensure copying complies with the law and licences that GSM holds. For more information about copyright at GSM London, please contact library staff. Copyright law is complex and this guide does not constitute legal advice.

Guidance on copyright for faculty can be found at https://libguides.gsmlondon.ac.uk/facultycopyright

Photocopying from newspapers 

You should usually use our Nexis subscription or Discovery search to obtain articles from newspapers and magazines. You can use our subscription to FT.com to obtain articles from the FT. Find out more here:  https://libguides.gsmlondon.ac.uk/ft 

 

Photocopying from newspapers and magazines is only possible on a 'Fair Dealing' basis. "Fair dealing" is an exception to copyright law which allows you to copy very small extracts for specific, non-commercial purposes including private study and review or criticism. There are no strict guidelines on how much you can copy, but you definitely should not copy more than one article from a magazine or newspaper. It is important that you make only one copy for your own personal use. You must always correctly reference /acknowledge the source and your copying should not deprive the newspaper or magazine publisher of revenue. This means that you should not be copying from the newspaper just to avoid purchasing it. 

This guides provides simple guidelines to assist students to ensure copying complies with the law and licences that GSM holds. For more information about copyright at GSM London, please contact library staff. Copyright law is complex and this guide does not constitute legal advice.

Using pictures  to illustrate presentations or coursework

You can discuss and reference diagrams and models as part of your coursework as long as they are correctly referenced.

If you want to use other pictures and photos to make your work look nice (but that are not being scrutinsed as part of your answer to the question you have been set), you need to use copyright-free images which you can obtain from sites such as

Pixabay https://pixabay.com/

Flickr Creative Commons https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/

Freefoto.com https://www.freefoto.com/

iconmonstr https://iconmonstr.com/

 

Referencing pictures from the internet

If you use pictures from the internet in your coursework or presentations, you need to reference them

For Creative Commons images, you need to copy the licence information and use that in your reference as well.

Science Museum Group (1914)  X-ray plates https://collection.sciencemuseum.org.uk/objects/co535035 (Accessed March 28, 2018) BY-NC-SA

 

Diagrams of business models or matrices

You can use business diagrams in your coursework: they must to be correctly referenced. For guidance on referencing, see the Library's Referencing guide: https://libguides.gsmlondon.ac.uk/referencing

 

This guides provides simple guidelines to assist students to ensure copying complies with the law and licences that GSM holds. For more information about copyright at GSM London, please contact library staff. Copyright law is complex and this guide does not constitute legal advice.

The library provides research tools for you to use in your studies. You can use these to find information about companies, markets and other information you need for your studies. The library also provides newspaper services, ebooks and ejournals as well as other sources of academic research. The publishers provide these to GSM Library on the understanding that they will be used for academic purposes only. This means that you cannot use them for any commercial purpose, for your own business or in work for your employer.

You can print or save reasonable amounts from these sources for your own private study: more information about what is permitted is available from library staff.

This guides provides simple guidelines to assist students to ensure copying complies with the law and licences that GSM holds. For more information about copyright at GSM London, please contact library staff. Copyright law is complex and this guide does not constitute legal advice.

Library staff can advise on copying from library books and journals that are not covered by the CLA Licence. However Students should be aware that quoting from work and using diagrams for the purposes of completing coursework is allowed as long as you correctly reference your work. 

 

Fair Dealing

 "Fair dealing" is an exception to copyright law which allows you to copy very small extracts for specific, non-commercial purposes including private study and review or criticism. There are no strict guidelines on how much you can copy, as a guideline: 

You must always correctly reference /acknowledge the source and your copying

Copying you do should not deprive the newspaper or magazine publisher of revenue. This means that you should not be copying to avoid purchasing or paying for the permission to use a work. The Society of Authors recommends the following limits for fair dealing purposes:

  • one article from any one issue of a journal or magazine
  • one chapter or up to 5% (whichever is greater) of a book 

 

Please speak to library staff for assistance, or if you would like to find out more about Fair Dealing or copyright these guides may be of interest:

Intellectual Property Office (UK) Guidance on Exceptions to copyright https://www.gov.uk/guidance/exceptions-to-copyright 

Glasgow Caledonian University UK Copyright Advisor https://edshare.gcu.ac.uk/3608/2/index.html

 

This guides provides simple guidelines to assist students to ensure copying complies with the law and licences that GSM holds. For more information about copyright at GSM London, please contact library staff. Copyright law is complex and this guide does not constitute legal advice.

Loading ...